Thursday, February 24, 2011

February Where Did You Go?

I can't believe that February is almost over.  If this is an indication of how fast 2011 will go by, I'm in serious trouble.  Especially since I'll be slacking off most of March.  Why?? you may ask.  I have to make sure that my vacation hours are not going to be over 240 hrs by July 1st.  As of the beginning of February my vac hours were 239.  I'll earn about 70 more by July 1st SOOOO I must take time off.  I am taking the 2nd off cause my dad is flying in for a conference in Mesquite and he's coming in a day early to hang with moi.  I am taking March 7-11 off just for the heck of it.  I plan on staying home and working on various projects that need to get done.  Hopefully I'll get myself organized enough to get at least one or two done. (HAHAHAHAHA) Ahem. Sorry gotta catch my breath. . . I will have to go to my second job Monday and Thursday that week but that's not a big deal. 
Did I talk about my other job?  Probably did but if you don't know.  I work 2x a week for 4 hrs in the evening at the CSN Henderson Campus.  It pays pretty good and the work is not hard.  It's usually pretty slow (obviously as I'm typing this while at CSN).
Next CSN's spring break is the week of March 21st so I thought I'd take a couple of days off that week (23rd-25th).  So really I am only taking off 9 days but if you include the weekends that's 17 days so I am not working MORE THAN HALF of the month.  Thus and therefore I am a slacker =). 
But WAIT there's more.  My fabulous friend Miss Leona's parents have offered part of their timeshare to her and she has generously offered to share with a couple of other friends and I.  We will be spending a week in May at Lake Tahoe.  I can't tell you how excited I am about this.  I drove by it (not in visual distance) several years ago when we went to the Redwoods in N. California.  So anyway I'm taking the 18th-29th off in May so I can get ready, go, and recover.  'Cause if I know anything I know that Lea will probably hike me to death while we're there.  It'll be lots of fun.  I'm sure I'll talk more about it.  So anyway there is no worry about me having hours to loose in July.  Heck before I know, it will be July.

Happy trails.
Rach

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Visit from the Parents

I've had two busy weeks in a row!  Two weeks ago (15th) my gramma and her boyfriend were here for the weekend.  We had a nice time hanging out.  We went downtown to see the lights on Saturday night.  On Sunday we drove out to Hoover Dam to see the new bridge.  I hadn't been out there yet.  I hadn't really paid any attention to the hubbub surrounding it, so I pictured it in a totally different place.  I was trying to picture a suspension bridge over the middle of Lake Mead.  It gave me the heebee-jeebees.  Obviously that is really not possible.  The bridge is south of Hoover Dam over the Colorado River.  Our plan was to drive over the dam then circle back over the bridge.  Unfortunately you can't get to the bridge from the dam on the Arizona side.  In fact you can't access the dam from Arizona any more at all.  They have the highway closed down.  But you do get a very good look at the bridge from the dam.  And quite frankly, I was glad not to have to drive over the bridge.  I know, you can't see anything, but I'm afraid enough of heights, just the thought creeps me.  Gramma and Jim left on the 17th to drive back to Kansas.  Overall it was a good time. 

This past weekend my parents were here.  We had lots of fun.  Unfortunately their plane was late on Friday.  We got up early on Saturday and I showed off the new library.  They were here last year right before we re-opened but we ran out of time, so I couldn't show them around.  They thought it was really lovely.

The chain on one of my toilets had broken a couple of weeks ago and we went to Lowes to get parts and Dad was determined to fix my outside faucet, which has always leaked.  I swear, every time Dad visits I get more tools =)  So Dad fixed things and cut down tree limbs while Mom and I weeded the back yard.  We got a lot done.

Saturday night we went to the Palms casino and ate at Little Buddha.  Awesome meal.  I had fillet mignon with a ginger plum sauce and wasabi tempura fries.  Dad had sushi and Mom had some kind of chicken terriyaki. I can't wait to go back.

Mom and I only had time to play two games of Scrabble.  Mom kicked my butt this time.  She won both games with power words in the last couple of hands.  This is the first time in awhile that she's been the overall winner.  Way to go Mom!

After church on Sunday we dropped Dad off at the Desert Willow golf course for 9 holes.  Mom and I went to the Las Vegas Outlet Center to buy Coach purses.  20 minutes and $350 later. . . Mom got a really nice leather purse and wallet and I got a cute black and silver going out purse with matching wallet. Considering at full price they would have been well over $700, I think we made out pretty good.

I dropped them off at the airport at 3.  We had a lovely visit.

Til next time
Rach

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Bathing a Cat at Midnight

What could be more fun than bathing a cat at midnight?  Almost anything let me tell you. 

My poor sweet cute baby cat Sassifrass has become even more inquisitive in the past few months.  She has found the joy of sitting on top of my refrigerator.  She has managed to learn how to open cabinet doors.  And Monday night she managed to get into the garage by pulling open a poorly shut door.  When I walked in I knew the door hadn't shut all the way and I thought I kicked it closed.  I was in a hurry as I REALLY needed to pee.  I threw all my stuff on the floor and rushed into the bathroom.  Apparently I had not shut the door all the way.  I spent the evening sitting on my computer reading e-books and playing on Facebook.  At one point I hear a door squeaking, and thought she was trying to get into the pantry, but I didn't see her so I just blew it off.  Then as I was getting ready to go upstairs, I realized I was hearing the squeaking again.   I followed the noise directly to the slightly open garage door.  Upon opening the door, there sat my Sassi.  Once I'd picked her up, I realized she must have climbed on the tire and/or tried to get into the undercarriage of my Jeep, because she had grease stains on her feet and she had black streaks all over her WHITE fur.  She also smelled like rubber.  I really didn't want her to clean all of that off herself.  I glanced at the clock 12:05 AM.  Oh well, I thought guess I'm not getting to bed any time soon. 

I went upstairs, Sassi in tow, walked into the bathroom and shut the door.  Sassi didn't start to get worried until I turned on the water in the tub.  She looked a me horrified for a second and started to struggle.  I kept the water fairly warm, as I know cats have a higher body temp then humans, and I didn't want her to get cold.  Two inches of water later, Sassi was starting to moan and grip tightly to my jammie top. (sounds a bit like a porn movie doesn't it)  Anyway I get her into the water and like any other respectable cat she does her best to get out.  I'm leaning over the bath with my belly resting on the edge.  Trying to keep at least half of her in the water. I didn't have any cat shampoo, so I used the unscented hand soap I used to wash my hands.  I managed to get the grease off her paws, but by that point she's managed to crawl into my shirt. She's making this constant deeply distressing moaning cry.  I really can't take much more of it, and I know she's at her wits end.   So I make sure I got most of the dirt off of her.  Only to realize that I forgot to grab a towel.  Not that it really matters as I'm waterlogged myself.  I take her out of the water, trying to squeeze as much water out of her fur.  I grab a towel and go sit on the bed with her. 

I wrap her up as best as I can and start drying her.  Sassi takes it stoically until I get to her belly.  She is pretty much done with me and starts to growl.  If you've ever met her you would realize that she is very much not a growler or a hiss-er, she purrs, and meows and chirps at me but hardly ever growls, not even at Chai or the outside cat that harasses them through the sliding doors on the patio.  She still pretty wet, but I go ahead and let her go.  I was pretty sure she'd shoot off like a rocket, but she sits on the bed glaring at me.  I use the edge of the towel and continue to try to dry her off.  I want her to stay in bed so she'll keep warm.  So I go get her favorite toy and bring it to bed. I know, she's a cat, an indoor cat at that, but I couldn't help it.  She's one of my babies.  She'd been highly stressed and if she'd gotten any water in her lungs (I tried to keep her head dry - didn't work with all of the flailing) she could get sick. 

I convince her to curl up on my feet and she starts to finish drying herself off.  It's after 1 now and I'm pooped.  It doesn't take much for me to drop off.  Next morning she's still curled up on my feet.  I was worried I might get the cold shoulder but she ended up sleeping on my lap for about 45 minutes before I had to go to work that morning.  She's still a bit leery of the bathroom but she peeks in to see what's going on.  She will forever be a curious one.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Extreme Hair Makeovers

I have a new hairdo.  It is bold; it is black; and it is purple.  In other words totally awesome.  I feel like I'm copying my friend Eliza by blogging about my new hair but I have a tale to tell.  It involves my hair, a jackpot, aliens, a car crash, and stalking.

First lets back up a little bit.  I have been having trouble finding a good stylist.  The woman who did my hair (and did a fabulous job at that) basically dropped off the face of the earth about 3 yrs ago.  I was told she went to a different salon but was never able to re-connect. 
So thus began my search for a new stylist.  I took a suggestion from my co-workers, but I didn't really like her, nor the way she did my hair.  I tried a random person at the same salon, didn't like her either. 

I sorta liked the stylist behind my apartment but she let an apprentice cut my hair.  There I was minding my own business, zoning out while my color baked and she says to me, "Is it okay if so and so washes out your color?"  I am fine with that.  So I sit down, he washes it out and I go back to the styling chair.  I have confession, when I am getting my hair done, I keep my eyes mostly shut as I can't really see anything anyway, since I am blind as a bat without my glasses on and I get a little woozy without them.  Next thing I know he's cutting my hair.  Lets just say, I never went back.

I again tried several random spots but finally just got sick of it all and let my hair go.  I let the color grow out completely and usually wore it in a ponytail to keep the static down. 

My friend Sarah went to this place called Too Hotties Haircuts.  It intruiged me greatly.  I was getting pretty tired of my hair.  It was starting become this big giant ball of frizz.  So as I won a little money gambling, I thought what the heck.  It is time to take a chance.

I made the appointment for last Thursday.  The inside of the salon was pretty cool it had a pool table and free samples from Freeds Bakery (yummy).  I also decided to do an exotic color. I decided on black with purple highlights.  I figured this was the type of place to have that.  The stylist was friendly and funny.  We talked for quite awhile so she could figure out what I was really looking for and off she went to mix my colors.  For the first time ever I got highlights, so I'd never seen my head covered in aluminium.  It was perfect protection from the aliens trying to read my mind but I decided the risk from lighting strikes to be higher than the danger from random alien scans. . .I wish I'd taken a picture of it.  Maybe next time for prosperity.  She cut my hair perfectly but the purple color didn't really take. It was more of a dark red, than even being close to a purple.  She offered for me to come back on Saturday and she'd see if she could fix it.  First time I'd ever had that happen.  Sounded good to me.

So on Saturday morning I stop at Panera to get me an egg and cheese soufle for breakfast before my hair appointment.  I am waiting at the corner of Jeffrys and Eastern.  The light turns green. I take my foot off the brake.   Oops I got a flake of soufle on my shirt, I look down to brush it of and wham I smack into the car in front of me.  We got a green not an arrow.  Dammit.  Luckily it doesn't look to bad.  No damage to my Jeep, but the Lexus's bumper is dimpled.  We pull off into the parking lot and exchange information.  No word yet on how much but I don't think it'll be too bad.  Keep you're fingers crossed.

Anyway, I made it to my hair appointment and she put this easter egg purple color all over my head.  Turned all the streaks dark purple just like I wanted it.  Better yet, she didn't charge me anything.  Woot.  And my hair rocks like a star.

Now you're probably wondering where the stalking comes in.  Turns out the couple that I rear-ended went to Freed's Bakery which is right next to Too Hotties.  When he called me to tell me the body shop wouldn't be able to do an estimate until Monday, he accused me of stalking them (teasingly) as he saw me walk into the hair salon.  Whatever, as everyone knows, I'm way to much of a slacker to put enough effort into truly stalking someone.  I'm sure they're stalking me, but not to worry.  I can take'em.

I'm not as cool as Eliza, as I didn't take before or after pics.  I'll post an after one on my flickr.  If you know me you know where it's at.

Rachel