Had a fabulous time this weekend. My friend Leona and I got up before the crack of dawn and headed to LA to go to the beach. We left about 5:30ish and arrived in LA by 9:30. Lea's a wicked driver =) We did a drive by the Queen Mary, just to say we did. Drove through some interestingly unsafe neighborhoods looking for Highway 1 - which by the way is not labled - and drove south. Our origional plan was to go back to Crystal Cove beach. We'd stumbled upon it during a previous trip. However on further discussion, we decided:
a) it wasn't really a swimming beach
b) it was too far south
c) we saw a sign that said, turn here for beach access. So we did!
We found parking after much verbal grumbling from Lea (she was ready to swim in her ocean - she apparently owns the entire Pacific, who knew I was hanging with the rich and famous!) Lugged all our crap out to a fairly deserted beach. We got front row, with high tide. The water was a little cold going in, but after that first suck of air between your teeth. It was perfect. The waves were high enough to body surf on and there weren't many unidentifiable slithery things underneath. Though Lea got a kick out of every time I squeaked and jumped. Out of the water it was 85 degrees and a great breeze off the ocean. Nice and relaxing. The only real excitement happened when I got out of the water and the seagulls had invaded our blanket. Say goodbye to a bag of pretzels. Damn birds. We left around 4 pm. We stopped in Barstow for dinner at IN-N-OUT, and were home by 9:30 pm.
It was a long day but it was fun. We may have to do this more often!
No comments:
Post a Comment